OTTAWA, July 26, 2012 – The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and Montreal Kosher are warning people with allergies to egg not to consume the Montreal Kosher products described below. The affected products contain egg which is not declared on the labels.
All lot codes of the following Montreal Kosher brand products are affected by this alert:
These products have been distributed in Quebec and Ontario.
There has been one reported reaction associated with the consumption of these products.
Consumption of these products may cause a serious or life-threatening reaction in persons with allergies to egg.
The manufacturer, Montreal Kosher, Montreal, QC, is voluntarily recalling the affected products from the marketplace. The CFIA is monitoring the effectiveness of the recall.
For more information, consumers and industry can call one of the following numbers:
Montreal Kosher at 514-739-3651;
CFIA at 1-800-442-2342 / TTY 1-800-465-7735 (8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday to Friday).
For information on egg, one of the nine most common food allergens, visit the Food Allergens web page at: http://www.inspection.gc.ca/english/fssa/labeti/allerg/allerge.shtml.
For information on all food recalls, visit the CFIA‘s Food Recall Report at: http://active.inspection.gc.ca/eng/corp/recarapp_dbe.asp.
To find out more about receiving recalls by e-mail, and other food safety facts, visit: www.foodsafety.gc.ca. Food and consumer product recalls are also available at http://www.healthycanadians.gc.ca.
Click on image for larger view
Montreal Kosher Brand Potato Knish