Daihatsu Indonesia Master 2019

2019 Daihatsu Indonesia Masters Result and Review

February 1, 2019 thomjer 0

Kevin Marcus Daihatsu Indonesia Master 2019

Host Indonesia won one title through men’s doubles. The pair Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo / Marcus Fernaldi Gideon became champions after winning all Indonesian finals over Mohammad Ahsan / Hendra Setiawan with a score of 21-17, 21-11. Indonesia has the opportunity to add titles through mixed doubles. However, Tontowi Ahmad / Liliyana Natsir failed to stem the Chinese world number one double, Zheng Siwei / Huang Yaqiong. One title belongs to China. Japan also gets one title through women’s doubles Misaki Matsutomo / Ayaka Takahashi, who won two straight games 21-19, 21-15. Denmark also won one title after Anders Antonsen surprisingly defeated first seed Kento Momota. The title in the women’s singles sector belongs to Saina Nehwal after Carolina Marin resigned in the first game due to injury.

The Spanish women’s singles, Carolina Marin, bitterly ended her work at the Indonesia Masters 2018. He was forced to give up the title of Indonesia Masters belonging to Indian player, Saina Nehwal, after suffering an injury in the first game of the final match at Istora Senayan, Jakarta, Sunday (01/27/2019). The failure was very bitter for Marin. Moreover, Marin decided to withdraw from the match when in a superior position.

Spain Woman's Single Carolina Marin

Marin fell while leading the first game with a score of 9-3. He suffered an injury to his right leg. After falling, the 2016 Olympic gold medalist can still continue the game. In fact, he had time to gain one additional point, as well as Saina Nehwal. However, at 10-4 for Marin’s advantage, the match was finally stopped. Marin asked for the match to end because he was unable to withstand the pain in his leg. He looks very disappointed with the condition. Marin could not hold back his tears when approaching the referee to shake hands. Carolina Marin was also still in tears when waving at the audience who packed Istora. The audience immediately gave warm applause as a form of support to Carolina Marin who was forced to end the final match earlier.

The Danish men’s singles, Anders Antonsen, made a surprise after defeating Kento Momota (Japan) in the Indonesia Masters 2019 final. Antonsen climbed the championship after defeating world number one from Japan, Kento Momota, 21-16, 14-21, 21-16 at Istora Senayan, Jakarta, Sunday (01/27/2019). This victory made Antonsen attenuate a distance of 1-3 in the record meeting with Momota, as well as becoming his first title in a major tournament.

Anders Antonsen Winner of Men's Singles

Final Results

Men’s Singles Champion: Anders Antonsen 

Men’s Doubles Champion: Marcus Fernaldi Gideon / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo 

Women’s Singles Champion: Saina Nehwal 

Women’s Doubles Champion: Ayaka Takahashi/Misaki Matsutomo 

Mixed Doubles Champion: Huang Yaqiong / Zheng Siwei

Daihatsu Indonesia Master 2019

5 Facts Of Daihatsu Indonesia Masters 2019

January 13, 2019 thomjer 0

Daihatsu Indonesia Masters 2019Daihatsu Indonesia Masters 2019 badminton tournament will be held at Istora Gelora Bung Karno Jakarta, starting Tuesday, January 22. Here are some interesting facts about this tournament:

  • Prize

    • Daihatsu Indonesia Masters 2019 is a Super 500 level tournament. This is the fourth level among the biggest prize tournaments, under the World Tour Finals, Super 1000, and Super 750. The participants will compete for 350.000 US$ (4.9 Billion Rupiah).

  • Reigning Champion
    • In last year’s Indonesia Masters, there were two titles won by Indonesian players. Anthony Ginting became champion in the men’s singles number, while Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo became the best in the men’s doubles sector. These two representatives will still be performing this year.
  • Indonesia Open is not friendly to Chinese men’s doubles
    • China usually always managed to carve out the best achievements in each number in every Grand Prix event. However, this does not apply to Indonesia Masters, because out of 5 categories since Indonesia Masters held, China never won all 5 of it in a single sweep. On the notes, since The Indonesia Masters tournament held, not even once they could achieve the best results in the men’s doubles. This proves that Indonesia Masters is not friendly to men’s doubles from China.

Liliyana Natsir and Tontowi Ahmad

  • Liliyana Natsir and Tontowi Ahmad won most titles
    • Mixed Doubles pairs, Liliyana Natsir and Tontowi Ahmad are listed as the most outstanding badminton champions in the Indonesian Masters event. In total, they have collected three titles, namely the first edition in 2010, 2012 and 2015. In terms of the number of titles, no one can compete with them. The closest are Indonesian men’s Doubles, Ahsan-Bona, and Chinese women’s doubles, Luo Ying-Luo Yu who both won two titles in this event.

  • There are only two players who can win the tournament in two consecutive years
    • Indonesia’s dominance in the men’s doubles sector also gave birth to other facts. Namely when the pair Mohammad Ahsan-Bona Septano became the only badminton player who could win two titles in Indonesia Masters in a row. The record was created by Mohammad Ahsan-Bona Septano when winning the Indonesia Masters in the first two years, namely 2010 and 2011. In this case, the record of Mohammad Ahsan-Bona Septano has not been able to be matched by any other pair or badminton player. But in terms of the number of titles, both are still inferior to Indonesia’s flagship mixed doubles pair, Tontowi Ahmad-Liliyana Natsir who has won three times, respectively in 2010, 2012 and 2015.