Press Releases

Construction Advisory Notice – 2013 Sidewalk Replacement Program – Margaret Street, Prince Albert Street, St. Annes Place

22/05/2013 The City’s Contractor will be commencing construction on the following project: spot repair of sidewalk bays on the east side of Margaret Street between Prince Albert Street and Victoria Street, on the south side of Prince Albert Street between Margaret Street and Metcalfe Street and on the north side …

Read More »

Construction Advisory Notice – 2013 Sidewalk Replacement Program – Stanley Street, Drake Street, Metcalfe Street

Construction Advisory Notice – 2013 Sidewalk Replacement Program 22/05/2013 The City’s Contractor will be commencing spot repair of sidewalk bays on the east side of Stanley Street between Victoria Street and Drake Street, on the south side of Drake Street between Isabel Street and Metcalfe Street and on the west …

Read More »

Public Information Centre Notification – Centre Street Parking Lots Construction and Metcalfe Street Angled Parking Construction

21/05/2013 The City of St. Thomas Environmental Services Department will be holding a Public Information Centre (PIC) for the development of two new parking lots on the north side of Centre Street on the former CASO Railway Lands with 21 and 34 spaces, respectively, and a new angled parking area …

Read More »

Emerald Ash Borer Regulated Areas Expanded

OTTAWA, ONTARIO–(Marketwired – May 7, 2013) – The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) has expanded its regulated areas for the emerald ash borer (EAB) in Ontario and Quebec. The changes in regulated areas, which are intended to slow the spread of the EAB by restricting the movement of ash materials, result …

Read More »

Raising a Flag for Mental Health – A Project Milestone for STEGH

St. Thomas, ON – Raising the Canadian Mental Health Association’s (CMHA) flag at the St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital (STEGH) signals the celebration of the first Mental Health Day at STEGH. This is the first time STEGH has marked this occasion and does so in anticipation of the new mental …

Read More »

STEGH Celebrates Nursing Week May 6-12

Highlights Include STOP! Clean Your Hands Day, and STEGH’s First Mental Health Day St. Thomas, ON – Nursing Week 2013 takes place May 6-12, honouring the effort and dedication of nurses to the ever evolving health-care system. National Nurses Week, was chosen around Florence Nightingale’s May 12th birthday and today, …

Read More »

Elevated Park Project confirmed

On Track St. Thomas concludes agreement to purchase MCR Bridge The vision of an elevated park over Kettle Creek is one step closer with conclusion of negotiations to purchase the Michigan Central Railroad Bridge in St. Thomas. A firm, unconditional offer has been accepted and closing date is set for …

Read More »

New Parking System and Flat Rate Fees at STEGH Means Easier Access for Patients and Visitors

St. Thomas, ON – St Thomas Elgin General Hospital (STEGH) is updating the parking system, eliminating the need for tickets, and switching to flat rate fees for all patient and visitor lots. This change will be complete by April 30th. Lot Current Rate New Rate East Incremental to max of …

Read More »

2013 Iron Horse Festival Postponed

It is with sadness that the Iron Horse Festival Committee has decided to postpone this year’s festival. The Iron Horse Festival is a non profit organization that has been organizing the Festival the past 19 years. The past few years have been extremely challenging due to many factors. As everyone …

Read More »

Watershed Conditions Statement – Flood Outlook

St. Thomas – Kettle Creek Conservation Authority is issuing a Watershed Conditions Statement – Flood Outlook for residents of the Kettle Creek watershed. The main concerns at this time are rising creek levels and fast flowing water due to torrential downpours. “Intense, localized thunderstorm activity could result in flooding in …

Read More »

Elgin St. Thomas Public Health Hosting Drop-In Sessions

St. Thomas, Ontario, April 16, 2013 – Elgin St. Thomas Public Health would like you to drop-in at an information session. The community is welcome to bring questions and learn more about Elgin County’s new headquarters for public health services. “We are looking forward to showing people what this building …

Read More »

Public Information Centre – Sunset Drive Ravine Slope Stabilization, Elm Street to Chester Street

17/04/2013 The Project Stantec Consulting Ltd. has been retained by the City of St. Thomas to complete the Class Environmental Assessment, detail design and construction contract preparation for slope stabilization and road reconstruction on Sunset Drive between Elm Street and Chester Street in the City of St. Thomas. This work …

Read More »

Official Zombie Press Release (and video)

PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Freaking Good Fun Comes to St. Thomas with 1st Annual Charitable Zombie Fest Bizbio, a local video production company has taken the lead on a rather unusual fundraising event happening on June 29t,h at Pinafore Park  in St. Thomas.   You can expect the City of St. Thomas …

Read More »

St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital Comments on CBC’s The Fifth Estate and new Rate My Hospital Resource

On April 10th, CBC launched a new resource called Rate My Hospital, and The Fifth Estate airs a program covering this on Friday, April 12 at 9 PM. (CBC TV). CBC’s The Fifth Estate host Mark Kelley, and CBC film crew visited St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital (STEGH) in March …

Read More »

Impressions Printing Selects the Kodak Nexpress Digital Production Color Press to Help Accelerate Growth

Kodak Eastman press release: ROCHESTER, N.Y., April 02 — Impressions Printing, a commercial printer in St. Thomas, Ontario, recently added a KODAK NEXPRESS Digital Production Color Press to its growing digital portfolio. The company has a strong 40-year reputation in southern Ontario as an offset printer and a year ago …

Read More »

Canadian Indie Romantic Fiction Author Rusty Blackwood's Upcoming Release, "Passions In Paris", Garners Enthusiastic Reviews

Canadian romantic fiction author Rusty Blackwood‘s new novel is written in the tradition of Bram Stoker’s ‘Dracula’ and ‘What Dreams May Come’. Recent reviewers have compared it to Erich Segal’s ‘Love Story’ and Nicholas Sparks’ ‘The Notebook’. The novel presents an intense story of soul mates whose love spans lifetimes. …

Read More »

Canadian Indie Romantic Fiction Author Rusty Blackwood’s Upcoming Release, “Passions In Paris”, Garners Enthusiastic Reviews

Canadian romantic fiction author Rusty Blackwood‘s new novel is written in the tradition of Bram Stoker’s ‘Dracula’ and ‘What Dreams May Come’. Recent reviewers have compared it to Erich Segal’s ‘Love Story’ and Nicholas Sparks’ ‘The Notebook’. The novel presents an intense story of soul mates whose love spans lifetimes. …

Read More »

Canadian Indie Romantic Fiction Author Rusty Blackwood’s Upcoming Release, “Passions In Paris”, Garners Enthusiastic Reviews

Canadian romantic fiction author Rusty Blackwood‘s new novel is written in the tradition of Bram Stoker’s ‘Dracula’ and ‘What Dreams May Come’. Recent reviewers have compared it to Erich Segal’s ‘Love Story’ and Nicholas Sparks’ ‘The Notebook’. The novel presents an intense story of soul mates whose love spans lifetimes. …

Read More »

2013 Walleye and Yellow Perch Catch Levels Recommended for Lake Erie

Recommended allowable walleye and yellow perch harvest to remain relatively stable in 2013 NIAGARA FALLS, NY – Fishery managers from Michigan, New York, Ohio, Ontario, and Pennsylvania, meeting as the Lake Erie Committee, recommended a 2013 total allowable catch (TAC) of 3.356 million walleye and 12.237 million pounds of yellow …

Read More »

Elgin St. Thomas Public Health – Elevated Levels of Bacteria in Road Side Ditches

St. Thomas, March 27, 2013 – Elgin St. Thomas Public Health reminds people to avoid direct contact with surface water in road side ditches and other low lying areas as it may contain bacteria, viruses and parasites. Staff of the Municipality of Central Elgin have been carrying out laboratory testing of water …

Read More »